FTF- Fears,Tears,and Family.

As I said earlier the Ag pilot family is small, but their hearts are big. My husband and I have met some really awesome people in the 6 years of his Ag career. I have actually come to love these people with all my heart. In 2007 Chad had the opportunity to go to the Holzworth Flying Service in Virden, Illinois.(If you have never been there it is like Mayberry.)The town is located in central Illinois, about 30 minutes from Springfield. We had only been married 8 months (oh how convenient being separated the first year of marriage, Not!) It was so hard letting him go so far away. We had no idea how it would be or the conditions he would live in. But I sent him off crying and so nervous. Chad was only there a couple of weeks and I had some exciting news. I was pregnant!! Wow! Chad couldn’t believe it and neither could I!! I had to see him face to face to celebrate. So my grandmother and I packed up and headed north. I couldn’t believe where this flying service was. It was literally in the middle of a corn field!! CORN EVERYWHERE!!! I was so nervous pulling up to a strange place, but I was so surprised when I met the staff. They were the sweetest people on earth. So welcoming and hospitable. I was so happy to see Chad and so happy to show him the pregnancy test!! Yes I did!! He was shocked, but happy. We got to spend a little time together, and then the trip was over. We said our goodbyes. I literally cried from Illinois to Arkansas. NO JOKE!! It was the hardest thing, but wouldn’t be the last hard thing that would happen to me. I was only home a day and I started feeling bad. I miscarried our baby the next day. I was so sad and in shock. I didn’t have my husband, my rock! Chad was upset, but he knew he couldn’t come home. So I headed back north once again. I drove 300 miles BY MYSELF. I needed the alone time and I needed my husband. I arrived again, I could not have been happier to see Chads face. I was embraced with loving arms, not only by my husband but by the flying service staff. Everyone was so sweet and understanding. On the second trip I bonded with the girls, Mrs. Linda and Jesse. It was so nice meeting new people and forgetting what had happened back home. I absolutely fell in love with everything about Virden and the very sweet people. In the future, Chad would go to Virden 3 times. The longest he would stay at a time would be 3 MONTHS. No, I was not happy about the long stay, but I knew I could visit some really awesome people in those summers. Chad and I call the Holzworths our second family. Not tied by blood, but by this awesome career. So ladies if your husbands travel or fly around the country. (Its hard I know.) Take time and go visit your husband if you can. You might meet some really great people and might even make a second family. That summer was sort of traumatic for me, but I got to meet some pretty awesome people who would change my life.

About agwife

The purpose of this blog was a outlet for me to share about being of a agpilot's wife. On August 18th, 2015 my husband was killed while cropdusting. I am now using this as a journal for my family's journey through life. I am still a stay at home mom. I attend college part-time to obtain a Social work degree. Thank you all for reading and taking the time to comment. Love yall

Leave a Reply

Thanks for reading!!!

I love to write!! This blog is not all about my husbands job. Its about life lessons and whats on my heart!! I hope through this blog I can meet and influence other women!!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,214 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 19,533 hits
