A Turkey Tale

I am so excited about this post!! I want to show off some of the Farming wives I know!! This one is a dear friend to me and her road to agriculture is a great story.  So I will let her tell her tale of becoming a Turkey farmers wife!!

First and foremost I want to thank Lacey for asking me to write on her blog, I truly feel honored that she would ask me to do so.  And let me start by explaining how Lacey and I know each other.

I guess I should start with my background.  Both of my parents grew up on grain farms and so I spent my childhood playing in chicken coops and bucking hay bales on my grandparents’ farms.  After high school I attended Southern Illinois University in Carbondale and majored in elementary education.  After graduating in 2005 I got a teaching position at a Catholic school back home so I moved back to central Illinois.  I am not one for down time and so when summer rolled around I was looking for a part time job for the summer. That is when my mom introduced me to Chuck and Linda Holzwarth, owners of Holzwarth Flying Service, just a mile or two from my parents’ home.

That summer was my first taste of the world of aerial application and the crazy pilots that come from all over to spray hundreds of thousands of acres of corn with fungicide.  One such pilot was Lacey’s husband Chad.  Chad and I got along great…..so long as I gave him the nice big fields with mile long rows he didn’t give me a hard time in the office.  The summer in an aerial applicator’s office is CRAZY busy from sun up to way past sun down (at least in the office any way) but I fell in love with this aspect of the agriculture industry!

I worked for Chuck and Linda for three years before I met my future husband Matt, a farmer from Indiana whom Chuck playfully named “Indiana Jones.”  Laugh if you will but my husband and I met online on a Farmers Only online dating service, so any of your single friends that want to marry a farmer and become a farmer’s wife should check it out!!  So then sadly in the fall of 2009 I quit my job with Chuck and Linda to move to Indiana to be with my soon-to-be husband Matt.  It was a very bittersweet time in my life!

My husband and I were married January 15, 2011 and then in February we received our first flock of poults (baby turkeys)!  We were just going to rent the turkey barns from the owners but they wanted to move closer to town so they offered to us to buy the turkey barns and the 17 acres it and the house were on.  So in October 2011 we moved to our old farm house where the turkey barns were located and started remodeling!!  So 2011 was a very busy year for us, we got married in January, started our turkey farm in February, found out we were pregnant in July, and bought, remodeled and moved into our new house in October!!

So 2012 finds my family with just under 20,000 turkeys in our barns, one 4 year old son (from my husband’s first marriage) and a 3 month old precious baby girl!!  And for your information by sticking with the farm theme, my step-son’s name is Case (as in the tractor) and my daughter’s name is Kinze (as in the planter).  My life has been touched by agriculture for as long as I can remember and even though life has been very crazy and stressful being a farmer’s wife I wouldn’t change it for the world!

I Want to thank Jessie so much for telling her story and giving insight on what is like being a farmers wife!!

About agwife

The purpose of this blog was a outlet for me to share about being of a agpilot's wife. On August 18th, 2015 my husband was killed while cropdusting. I am now using this as a journal for my family's journey through life. I am still a stay at home mom. I attend college part-time to obtain a Social work degree. Thank you all for reading and taking the time to comment. Love yall

Leave a Reply

Thanks for reading!!!

I love to write!! This blog is not all about my husbands job. Its about life lessons and whats on my heart!! I hope through this blog I can meet and influence other women!!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,169 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 18,555 hits
