Poo gave me perspective

Well first I applogize for the title, but you will get the point in a bit.

The other night I got to go on my very first plumbing “after hours” call with my hubs. I wanted to spend time with him and see what this plumbing thing was all about. The call was for a nursing home and I knew I would enjoy visiting with the older folks and felt excited!

When we got there Tim really thought that We could fix the problem from the outside, unfortunately that was not the case.

We had to enter the nursing home and I was excited to get to meet some sweet older people. As we traveled down a hall my heart felt heavy. The image of little frail women and men laying in the beds watching tv and sleeping was breathtaking (not in a good way). I could feel myself start to lose breath and hyperventilate alittle.

We finally approach the room we needed to repair and as we walked in a lady was laying in bed watching tv. Tim tried to explain it would be loud and he was trying to fix a problem. As I stood there and did my wifely duties of holding down the small roto – rooter and a screw driver (and smelling poo). I noticed a picture of this lady and her husband. It had to have been taken years back because she looked younger and her clothes were like 80’s style.

As I looked at the picture and then looked back at her, my heart felt happy and sad. She had a life before this. She had a family. She had a smile. She had happiness and joy. You see this lady could not talk nor did she have arms. As I looked at the picture of her as a normal woman and then back at the suffering one, I felt a tug. I felt a longing. I wanted heaven and I wanted it now!!!

As I continued to smell poo and be a great wife, I continued to think “Why lord? Why the suffering.” Why let her lay looking at what was and dwelling on the now.

As Tim finished and then washed the stink off of him at a fire hydrant, my heart was still wanting heaven to come, for that woman and then for myself. I told Tim what I was feeling and he put things in great perspective and I believe scripture does too. With our struggles and pain, worry, hardships, and sorrow we can not hope for a easy way out, but use these sufferings for HIS works and plan. He is not ready for those suffering at the nursing home, because there is a purpose for their lives which has not been fulfilled by the big G!

I may be ready for heaven to cure this world and take his people, but there are more out there that need to feel ready and be cured from sin before that happens. He wants us to use our story, the happy in the past and our suffering in the present(also happiness) to lead others to HIM and prepare them for his coming. He wants his people to long for him, but also obey and do his work. We can be bed stricken and emotionally stricken, but we can not be Jesus stricken. He will never fail us and we should not fail him. Jesus longed for heaven. He wanted to go home, but yet he went and told and endured suffering for us and his father.

Well perspective was shown that night to me through poo. Don’t ever think the Lord won’t use ANYTHING to show you perspective or confirmation on things.

Humble yourself, therefore, under God’s mighty hand, that he may lift you up in due time. Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.
1 Peter 5:6-7

Love yall,
Lacey

About agwife

The purpose of this blog was a outlet for me to share about being of a agpilot's wife. On August 18th, 2015 my husband was killed while cropdusting. I am now using this as a journal for my family's journey through life. I am still a stay at home mom. I attend college part-time to obtain a Social work degree. Thank you all for reading and taking the time to comment. Love yall

Leave a Reply

Thanks for reading!!!

I love to write!! This blog is not all about my husbands job. Its about life lessons and whats on my heart!! I hope through this blog I can meet and influence other women!!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,179 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 18,984 hits
