The Hall of Fame of Faith

11934987_10207439890737501_8825183722897354011_n

This week I have had a lot of time to myself. Sawyer AND Fran have started a new school year. This means that momma has a lot of time on her hands. I have been catching up on some things around the house and also unpacking from our recent beach trip. I (momma) can not get over that both of my kids are in school and I am at home by myself. I haven’t had ALONE time like this in a while and especially in a year.

With all of this time and a oh So quiet house, my mind has gone places I wished it would never go again. For instance the day Chad died, the feelings I had when I had to say goodbye for the last time at the funeral home, and the look on my kids face when I had to tell them Daddy was gone to be with Jesus. All of these things have been kept occupied by my busy time and just being a momma.

Well, the devil knows that a little  free time can harm a weary mind. He will bring up the bad to get your attention and try to stop the peace that you have . The devil will try to destroy your peace with simple questions such as “why?” Why did this happen to me and my kids? Why would a God that loves me, make me suffer? Why would a God that loves my Children make them suffer? The devil knows just the right words to say and he is not afraid to use them.

I have thought about all of these questions in the recent weeks. I have pondered on the questions.  I have had a week of alone time to find answers and beat the devil down with God’s word. My alone time has given me the chance to BE STILL AND KNOW.

Yesterday I sat in our office and opened my bible. I just wanted to read some of Jesus’s sweet words. As I was flipping I stopped in Hebrews and immediately saw the words “By Faith” as the tittle for a chapter. I have read Hebrews, but never like this. I am gonna tell you all, that after I read Hebrews Chapter 11 I  TKO’d the devil and his work in my mind.

Hebrews Chapter 11 talks about Faith and trusting God’s commands and plans. The writers recall men and women of faith in the bible. These men and women are found in the bible stories we have all heard as children. The ones that  under crazy circumstances obeyed Gods request and commands. I will name a few:

God told Noah to build a Ark. Noah trusted God and built it.

God told Abraham to leave and go to the land of promise. Abraham did and God blessed him.

God told Sarah she would have a baby at a ripe old age. God promised her that her son would have decedents as many as the stars in the sky and as many as the innumerable grains of sand by the seashore. She had the baby and God’s promises were fulfilled.

God told Abraham to sacrifice his son on a alter. Abraham proceeded to do so, before God stopped him. In faith Abraham knew he could trust God and he would be faithful to him.

God parted the Red Sea for Moses and lead the Egyptians to a grave on the sea bed.

There is so much more to this chapter, but after reading all of these well known bible stories together and seeing how God is trustworthy and faithful I could see that God’s plans are good and worthy of our obedience; even when his plans cause  us to suffer or be in physical pain.  He asks us to step out of our comfort zone. He asks us to trust him, even when the plan looks and sound NUTS!

I began to see that God uses the unknown to make known his faithfulness.

I can not and will not let the devil still my ending to God’s plan for me. I want to be listed in the Hall of Fame of Faith. I want to know that through God’s plan, I obeyed him, trusted him, and took him at his word.

I ask that when you feel like God’s plan for your life is somewhat ridiculous, you find that there are many that felt a little like that in the bible. Although they  thought “this is just crazy,” they stuck it out, trusted God, and finished the race of life for the glory of God.

I love these verses.

Hebrews 11:13- These all died in faith, not having received the things promised, but having seen them and greeted them from afar, and having acknowledged that they were strangers and exile on earth.

Hebrews 12:1-2 Therefore, since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses, let us also lay aside every weight, and sin which clings so closely, and let us run with endurance the race that set before us, looking to Jesus, the founder and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy that set before him endured the cross, despising the shame, and is seated at the right hand of God.

Love Yall,

Lacey

 

 

About agwife

The purpose of this blog was a outlet for me to share about being of a agpilot's wife. On August 18th, 2015 my husband was killed while cropdusting. I am now using this as a journal for my family's journey through life. I am still a stay at home mom. I attend college part-time to obtain a Social work degree. Thank you all for reading and taking the time to comment. Love yall

Leave a Reply

Thanks for reading!!!

I love to write!! This blog is not all about my husbands job. Its about life lessons and whats on my heart!! I hope through this blog I can meet and influence other women!!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,214 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 19,533 hits
